Introducing Furbotz!

Ever since I was a kid, I’ve had a fascination with animatronics and robotics. Inspired by films such as The Dark Crystal, Labyrinth and the Terminator, I was delighted when my dad brought me home a Petster from Axlon toys. He was a brown robot cat that looked like a fat gremlin. He purred, he rolled about and came when I called (clapped), he was awesome!

Several toys and creepy robot dreams later, I heard of this furry robot who could learn English and respond to human interaction. I finally managed to scrape together some shekels and buy myself a black and brown Furby. He was so METAL!

skinned furbot

Some time after buying my Furbot I found something that resembled him in a dodgy market in the English town of Stretford. The sounds that came out of it were the stuff of nightmares! Badly synthesized speech and grinding sounds from its innards were accompanied by an awful burning electronics smell. It scared the shit out of me yet fascinated me. Years later, I remembered my creepy acquaintance and wanted to find this terrifying Furby imposter and his brethren.

Here are my collection of Furby freaks, animatronic animals and robotic curiosities.

~ by Furbotz on 11/11/2011.

3 Responses to “Introducing Furbotz!”

  1. Hey, I have a furbling. Wanna see a drawing of her? Her name is Dee-Doh (Girly-girl)!!

  2. She says phrases like, “May-may baby?” and “(stomach growls) A-a-ah-tah?”.

Leave a Reply

 
